Mastering The Market Cycle: Getting the odds on your side

  • By Learn CFDs

  • December 5, 2018
  • 3:20 am BST

Mastering The Market Cycle: Getting the odds on your side

By Howard Marks


With a wealth of experience behind him, there seems little wonder this has reached bestseller lists, receiving acclaimed praise from esteemed investors such as Warren Buffett. This book aims to show how the reader can understand how patterns work in the market to get the kinds of gains that the most successful traders have used to their benefit. Suitable for beginners and those looking to refine their investment game, it comes with plenty of interesting insights to delve into.


This book starts by analyzing why the market works the way it does, and that in fact, it tends to go in cycles often enough that people can spot the patterns when they come back around. Those who do are able to master the market, spot which trends to use to enter the market at the right time and end up with a strong investment portfolio.

It considers how the market is run by humans just as most things are, and it, therefore, has plenty of predictable outcomes which can be used to make market gains. By learning what to spot, when something shows enough of a positive trend to act upon, and understanding when to exit the market at the right time, Marks aims to show it is entirely possible for the average trader to just as well as those in Wall Street.

With elements of finding out more about trader psychology and how this can be used to predict which ways the markets are about to shift, this book offers a strong grouping of practical advice and recommendations which can be used to improve any strategy.

Not all books will go into this kind of detail at such a high level when it comes to managing investments based on what the markets are going to do next, so if this is the kind of approach any investor is looking for, this book will help.


Hardcover: 336 pages

Publisher: Nicholas Brealey Publishing (4 Oct. 2018)

Language: English

ISBN-10: 9781473680371

ISBN-13: 978-1473680371

ASIN: 1473680379